.
Take me back to the ROCK REVIEWS home page

GIGS THAT I'VE ATTENDED - 2002
Any links on this page lead to reviews, memories, ticket stubs, photographs and other memorabilia from my collection.
The idea is to have a page for each concert eventually - when I find time to trawl trough the archives.
If anyone reading this was at any of these concerts and would like to jog my memory then feel free to contact me.

2002 1982 1984 1985 1986 1987 1988 1989 1990 1991 1992 1993 1994 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003
MOSTLY AUTUMN <8>
KARNATAKA <6>
London Mean Fiddler
12/1/2002
-- Back in London for another Mostly Autumn show and this time they impressed me a bit more. The show was followed by the Karnataka DVD launch in Picadilly Circus.
PALLAS <>
John YOUNG <36>
London Mean Fiddler
19/1/2002
-- Bit of a double whammy here for me, old favourites Pallas being ably supported by JY. Wonder how he got the gig? ;o)
The URBANE <1> Reading Pavlov's Dog
24/1/2002
free With an early rise the following morning I almost didn't make the show but I'm glad I did, impressive stuff. Some of my photos are on the Urbane Site.
PALLAS <>
ADN <1>
Paris Club Dunois
26/1/2002
-- A first for me, a French gig and on Burns night.
BIG CHIEF <1> Reading The Jazz Club, The Arches
1/2/2002
-- Something rather jazzier than I'm used to but the Greenslade connection (Tony Reeves plays bass in both bands) tempted me along and I really enjoyed the music - similar in places to early 70's Deep Purple style jamming - must be the Ian Paice slant.
DEEP PURPLE <48>
The PLANETS <1>
Auditorium Grimsby
6/2/2002
26:50 After a number of lacklustre performances since 1998 Purple are back on tremendous form. A cracking show and excellent first mainland date, well worth the 250 mile drive. The Planets provided a rather different support act, one Ritchie may approve of.
DEEP PURPLE <49>
The PLANETS <2>
Nottingham Royal Concert Hall
7/2/2002
26:50 Another excellent show. I'm wishing I had bought tickets for the whole tour now. 3 shows in and Gillan is still managing Child In Time.
John YOUNG <37> (with special guest John WETTON) Bentworth Star Inn
8/2/2002
free A surprise guest added to the atmosphere and joined in on a couple of the latter tracks.
DEEP PURPLE <50>
The PLANETS <3>
Oxford Apollo
10/2/2002
26:50 Woo Hoo, 50 DP shows. Pity the sod my girlfriend decided to sell her ticket to didn't hang about to collect and pay for it so I wasn't in the calmest of moods to enjoy the show as much as I hoped.
GREENSLADE <6>
TANTALUS <1>
Rotherham Herringthorpe Leisure Centre (CRS)
16/2/2002
13/11 10 days on and I'm back 'oop North' for something rather less rocky but grooving none the less. A year ago they recorded a CD in the same venue and tonight it is available for the first time. Tantalus put in a good supporting performance and I'm tempted to see them again.
GREENSLADE <7>
John YOUNG <38>
Farnham Maltings
20/2/2002
12:50 A local gig slipped in at the last minute. A small but appreciative audience.
DEEP PURPLE <51>
The PLANETS <4>
London Hammersmith Apollo
22/2/2002
28.00 Oh dear, Gillan's cold has lingered on from around two days after I saw the band and tonight is the final date of the tour, the last half dozen shows postponed until September.
Leslie West's MOUNTAIN <4>
STRAY <3>
Southampton The Brook
28/2/2002
13:50 A rocking set by the three piece that once again includes Corky Laing. I arrived for the last song by the support act, Stray.
KARNATAKA <7> Reading Roebuck's Tavern
1/3/2002
2.00 Half the audience, the ones that watched rather than played pool/talked, seemed to have come from Wales or Bristol.
MAGNUM <>
TYLA <1>
Newport TJ's; Gwent Wales
2/3/2002
12.50 1st official gig after over 5 years and very loud!!
Jackie LEVEN <> Southampton Talking Heads
5/3/2002
5.00 Quieter than the last time but the colleague I took along thoroughly enjoyed himself and bought a CD.
The URBANE <2> Reading Purple Turtle
19/3/2002
free Downstairs in the dim and long venue. The band rock but the venue leaves a lot to be desired.
COMPANY OF SNAKES <> Southampton The Brook
22/3/2002
12.50 With a new album of original material to promote this isn't a tribute show all the way as at least half the material is from the new 'Burst the Bubble' CD. Some of it fares far better than I imagined.
JUMP <45> Aylesbury Limelight Theatre
23/3/2002
7.50 Theatre show but I wasn't in the mood.
Keith EMERSON & The NICE <1> London 100 Club
9/4/2002
free Press show for the release of a piano only album from Keith Emerson. Former members of the Nice, Lee Jackson and Brian Davison joined him onstage for around 20 minutes.
MERCHANTS VICE <1> Farnborough Tumble Down Dick
11/4/2002
free First gig of what I assume is a localish prog band. The sounded, vocally at any rate, a bit like Euan Lowson era Pallas.
Ken HENSLEY's Free Spirit <1> Southampton The Brook
17/4/2002
No JY in the band and the Wetton songs played at the Forum in December have been replaced by tracks from the new Running Blind CD .
JUMP <46> Marlow Bottom TJ O'Reilley
19/4/2002
£7 Much more enjoyable show this time despite the singer having a good go at me from the stage. Words off a Doug's back!
OZRIC TENTACLES <1> Reading Fez Club
24/4/2002
Something rather likeHawkwind and none the worse for it. Plenty of aromatic ciggies in evidence!
MOSTLY AUTUMN <9>
John YOUNG <39>
Southampton The Brook
1/5/2002
7.00 Nice to see JY in the Brook again. Maybe next time he'll be headlining himself. Mostly Autumn played some tracks off the Lord of the Rings inspired album and they proved some of the best (and heaviest) material they've produced. I enjoyed this show.
John YOUNG <40> Bentworth The Star
3/5/2002
free Somebody called John Wetton once again turned up and sang the final track, Last One Home, with JY.
The URBANE <3> Reading 3Bs
9/5/2002
free Third time in Reading and yet another venue. This is the best of the three though more like seeing the band in your (large) lounge. An unexpected encore proved a problem for John Mitchell who'd thrown his guitar down at the end of the main set - knocking it well out of tune.
BLUEHORSES <1> Windsor Arts Centre
10/5/2002
It is always nice to find a new band (thanks Lynn) to enjoy and the Bluehorses were certainly that with a blend of folk, rock and fun that entranced the crowd.
JUMP <47>
DERRIN NAUENDORF <1>
Rotherham Herringthorpe Leisure Centre
11/5/2002

Original support was to be Gina DOOTSON but for whatever reason we had to suffer the guitar and drums of the antipodean duo for around half an hour. John Dexter Jones must have liked then as he mentioned asking then to play the Horses Head Soup Festival. Luckily they didn't make that bill.

BLUE OYSTER CULT <>
John YOUNG <41>
Milton Keynes The Stables, Wavendon
14/5/2002
12.50 Stuck right at the back I was a little out of the atmosphere.Tthe audience were silent for JY though what most of the hardcore BOC fans made of him I don't know. BOC seemed a little jetlagged as the set wasn't as powerful as I expected/hoped.
CLEAR BLUE SKY <1>
TANTALUS <2>
London Royal Standard
16/5/2002
.
BLUE OYSTER CULT <>
Carl PALMER <1>
London Astoria
17/5/2002
12.50 .
PENDRAGON (no support) <> London Mean Fiddler
21/5/2002
9.50 No support but the live Greenslade CD was played over the PA before the band came on.
MOSTLY AUTUMN <10>
John LAWTON <1>
London Mean Fiddler
25/5/2002
A double headliner with both acts being filmed for future DVD release.
Jackie LEVEN <>
Jason McNIFF <1>
Gina KAZ <1>
London 12 Bar Club
28/5/2002
Strange venue but some good music and Frankie Miller was in the audience and had a song dedicated to him.
John YOUNG <42> Bentworth Queens Jubilee celebrations
3/6/2002
5 Just a short 15 minute set due to delays with other local bands.
JUMP <48> Reading Roebuck Tavern
7/6/2002
free .
The URBANE <4>
Lloyd & Dean <1>
Reading Pavlov's Dog
13/6/2002
free The acoustic doodlings of Lloyd and Dean was soon blown away by the powerchording of the Urbane to the usual student audience.
Roger WATERS <1> London Wembley Arena
27/6/2002
I won tickets for this show on Total Rock. Nick Mason played drums on one early track at this last show of a world tour.
The URBANE <5> Reading The Purple Turtle
4/7/2002
free .

JADIS <7>
John MITCHELL <2>

Southampton The Brook
6/7/2002
.
JADIS <8>
John MITCHELL <3>
London Mean Fiddler
12/7/2002
10.00 The first official John Young Band photo was squeezed in between sets, John Mitchell supporting John Jowitt and Steve Christey in Jadis. JY was along for the show so it seemed like an opportunity not to be missed.
KARNATAKA <8>
SLEEPING GIANT <1>
Aylesbury Limelight Theatre
13/7/2002
7.50 I would have preferred to see the Morrigan nearer home but I was over ruled, fortuitously as it turned out, as I managed to have a chat with Dave Kilminster and found out about his forthcoming part in the Nice reunion tour.
JUMP <49> (overview)
ORFORD & CHANDLER <>
GALAHAD <4>
Whitchurch Festival
2/8/2002
10 Three acts I'd seen before, one for the first time at Whitchurch 1993. A good evenings entertainment.
HAZE <> (overview)
John MITCHELL <4>
Keith BELL <>
ONE IOTA <>
Whitchurch Festival (afternoon)
3/8/2002
15 (all day ticket) A little late in arriving but I managed to catch 95% of the music. John Mitchell surprised a few people with both choice of song and the laid back manner in which the rockier Urbane songs were adapted for an acoustic set. Haze were even better than the first time I saw them in 1999.
FRANCIS DUNNERY <> (overview)
JOHN WAYNE <>
PRIMITIVE INSTINCT <>
Whitchurch Festival (evening)
3/8/2002
15 (all day ticket) SUMMER INDOORS were due to play this evening but pulled out a few weeks in advance of the event. Primitive Instinct were promoted to an evening slot and John Mitchell added to replace them in the afternoon.
TREEBEARD <> (overview)
Damian WILSON <>
Keith BELL <>
ROLF <>
Whitchurch Festival (afternoon)
4/8/2002
15 (all day ticket) Late again and this time I missed more than the opening number of the unexpected first act. Damian Wilson was the hit of the afternoon though and far superior live to the few tracks I'd previously heard.

FOCUS <> (overview)
HENRY FOOL <>
SPHERE
<>

Whitchurch Festival (evening)
4/8/2002
15 (all day ticket) Two out of three bands impressed, Henry Fool being the odd one out.
GALAHAD <5> Bournemouth Mr Smiths
10/8/2002
This was supposed to be the debut complete preformance of the complete 'Year Zero' album. With time running short in the second set some sections had to be cut so we didn't see the whole album performed.
Adrian Byron BURNS <1> Kinloss East Grange Loft
18/8/2002
5 An interesting bluesy take on some standards as well as plenty of original material.
John YOUNG <43> Bentworth The Star
23/8/2002
free The official first live play of a new song from the next CD, something a little more prog than the material on Significance or Life Underground - Unknown Soldier, all 14 minutes of it!
DEEP PURPLE <52>
The PLANETS <5>
London Hammersmith Apollo
6/09/2002
28.00 + booking fee First night of the rescheduled dates (and one of the added ones) but only one video camera present for part of the show this time. I caught Ian Paice's drum skin which swerved towards me at the last minute.
DEEP PURPLE <53>
The PLANETS <missed them>
London Hammersmith Apollo
7/09/2002
28.00 + booking fee The shorter set (20 min less than in February) was repeated tonight but with the addition of Bruce Dickinson, Nicko McBrain and Janick Gers of Iron Maiden on Smoke.
DEEP PURPLE <54>
The PLANETS <6>
York Barbican Centre
8/09/2002
26.50 + booking fee Standing venue that everyone complained had poor sound. I can't comment as I stood in front of the bass backline and my view is tempered by that. Other than that a good show.
DEEP PURPLE <55>
The PLANETS <missed them>
Bradford St. George's Hall
9/09/2002
26.50 + booking fee Front row balcony seat tonight so a different view and surprisoingly good sound. Possibly the best show of the four so far.
SWALLOW <1> Reading 3B's
12/09/2002
free Local Reading covers band that finished their set with a female fronted, pumping, version of Purple's Highway Star complete with switched perspective vocals.
DEEP PURPLE <56>
The PLANETS <7>
Birmingham NEC
14/09/2002
26.50 Only the second gig I've been to on my birthday, the first being Magnum in 1990, and free tickets care of Stephen Hounslow who couldn't make the rescheduled date. Good on yer Steve.
DEEP PURPLE <57>
The PLANETS <8>
Portsmouth Guildhall
15/09/2002
26.50 Second venue I return to that I first visited on the 1996 tour, Bradford being the first, and some hassle from security when they thought my digital camera was a video.
DEEP PURPLE <->
The PLANETS <->
Plymouth Pavilions
17/09/2002
26.50 I had a ticket but work intervened, as well as the 200 mile drive, so I didn't go. I understand security was heavy handed and kept the audience seated for at least half the show.
DEEP PURPLE <58>
The PLANETS <8>
Bristol Colston Hall
18/09/2002
26.50 My last gig of the tour and Jon Lord's penultimate show as a member of the band. A sad night though having Bernie Marsden guest on smoke on the Water took my mind off that.
BOWES & MORLEY <1>
The URBANE <6>
London ULU
20/09/2002
13:50 Well, that's what the ticket said but on the night I was charged £15. Still, as the first gig of a short, 2 date, tour and the first ever Bowes & Morley live show I suppose I wasn't screwed too badly. Not as good as I remember Thunder (Bowes and Morley were vocalist and guitarist respectively) but then they've left Thunder behind (except for a brief Alice Cooper support).
TANTALUS <2> Kingston, The Peel, London
28/9/2002
5.00 'Lumen et Caligo 1' Album Launch (Long Set).
COMPANY OF SNAKES <> Chiddingfold Live Music Club
5/10/2002
15.00 on door £13 in advance.
The NICE <2> London Royal Festival Hall
6/10/2002
.
DIO <>
Oliver / Dawson SAXON <1>
Portsmouth Pyramid Centre
9/10/2002

14.50

.
JUMP <50> Winchester The Railway
12/10/2002
5 on door A return after a long gap to an old haunt for the band. Despite a full car park the hall was surprisingly empty, not helped by the wall hugging audience. This didn't daunt the band and they put in a sterling performance even though the reception lacked a litte..
The NICE book signing <-> London Helter Skelter
19/10/2002
free Well not quite free as I had to buy the book to get it signed so £13.99.
GALAHAD <6> Poole Mr Kyp's, Dorset
19/10/2002
7 on door .
JUMP <51> Leighton Buzzard Wheatsheaf
25/10/2002
free The new material really made an impression tonight - a brilliant show and a much better atmosphere that a fortnight earlier.
MOSTLY AUTUMN <10> Southampton The Brook
30/10/2002
10.00 No support but a larger crowd than last time and possibly the best response I've seen for the band. Not bad for a bunch of South coasters.
MOSTLY AUTUMN <11> Oxford Zodiac
1/11/2002
11.00 on door £10.00 in advance but an extra quid and NO physical TICKET on the night. A much smaller crowd than two days ago but this is the first gig in Oxford. Pity it was spoilt for the band by some people chatting near the front. They didn't stop despite a polite request from Heather and the bouncer.
MOUNTAIN <5>
STRAY <4>
Bisley Pavilion, Bisley Camp, Brookwood, nr.Woking
3/11/2002
16.00 on door £15.00 in advance.
JUMP <52> High Wycombe Zoom Club, Bucks University
9/11/2002
7.00 First High Wycombe (home town) gig in about three years for Jump in a relatively new venue that had a remarkable lack of students present.
THE FLOWER KINGS <2> Rotherham Herringthorpe Leisure Centre
16/11/2002
.
ALICE COOPER <6>
THUNDER <>
QUIREBOYS <2>
DOGS D'AMOUR <>
'Monsters or Rock'
Brighton Centre
17/11/2002
25 .
ALICE COOPER <7>
THUNDER <>
QUIREBOYS <3>
DOGS D'AMOUR <>
'Monsters or Rock'
Bournemouth Centre
19/11/2002
25 .
$IGN OF 4 <1>
CANDYHEADS <1>
REDHILL <1>
Oxford Zodiac
23/11/2002
9.00 Add a 50p booking fee even when paying cash at the venue though.
Jackie LEVEN <> Southampton, Talking Heads
27/11/2002
5 .
CARAVAN
FOCUS <2>
London Astoria
28/11/2002
10 Focus were excellent CARAVAN were headliners but as I can't say I was impressed with the album I bought a few months ago I went downstaris to see the headliners there instead.
John LAWTON Band <2>
KARNATAKA
London Mean Fiddler
28/11/2002
10 I missed Karnataka due being upstairs watching focus and this was a different John Lawton Band to the Project videoed i the same venue a few months earlier.
ASIA <2>
URIAH HEEP (acoustic) <>
London Shepherds Bush Empire
30/11/2002
10 Supposedly a 20th Anniversary show but no mention was made of that during Asia'a set which pretty much followed the same setlist as their soon to be released 'America' DVD. No sign either of rumoured special guests though John Wetton was present at the show.
Kate TOWNSHEND <2> JUMP Xmas Party, Lacey Green
/12/2002
free .
Go to 1982 1984 1985 1986 1987 1988 1989 1990 1991 1992 1993 1994 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001 2002 2003

If you have any comments about this page then please contact me.

Site updated
 
Rock Review Home page
 
Band web links
  This page is Copyright © Doug Anderson 2000 - 2003. Created: January 2000. Last updated: 9 April, 2003.
^